clothing · Designer Stitch · pattern tests · pdf patterns · Sewing · Uncategorized

The Sedona Shirt, Tunic & Dress PDF Pattern from Designer Stitch

img_7801

I am pretty excited about Designer Stitch’s first new pattern for 2019! The Sedona Shirt, Tunic & Dress was a pattern that Ann has been teasing the Designer Stitch testing group with for quite some time so I was really happy when it finally came out for testing and it is even more fun now that I finally get to share the pattern with my fellow sewing tribe members!

img_7888

My Sedona

I made the knee length version with the long sleeve with tailored cuffs and placket. I added the front patch pockets and the side seam pockets, because pockets are life, right!?! This was my first time making a concealed button wrap placket but I always hear Ann’s voice reminding me to just trust the instructions and stop trying to get it to make sense in your imagination so I just dove in and it came out perfectly. There is however, a print out sheet that you can use to practice folding the placket if you chose not to live life so dangerously!

img_7840

The Fabric

I originally was going to make the mid-calf length with this really unique piece of fabric that I picked up from the thrift store…yet another one of the really unique pieces of fabric that has a story behind it of which I wish I knew the details. It seems to have some wool content in it and it is either a light suiting or heavy shirt weight and has a small herringbone texture to it that I love! When I went to start cutting, I realized that this really large piece of fabric had about a half meter of sun bleaching RIGHT IN THE CENTER of the fabric! I had my heart set on it, though, so I did some pattern tetris magic and was able to come out with a slightly longer knee length version and I am quite pleased with the end result.

img_7879

We had a lot of fun doing this photoshoot. My hubby and I  and our two daughters had gone out for the day on a drive in the county and my oldest daughter and hubby took turns getting pictures of me. My daughter loved the safari adventure look that my Sedona has and I think we found the perfect setting to do the photos at! I just need some giraffes or something in the background!

img_7824

I styled my Sedona with the  Harper Pants, also from Designer Stitch, a ribbed knit rtw turtleneck and some comfy hiker/running shoes to finish off the whole adventurer theme I had going. I truly think this is a pattern that really gives you a lot of bang for your buck. There are so many different looks you can achieve with this one pattern— shirt, tunic or dress, with varying sleeve lengths and the looks are totally transformed depending on the fabric you chose. In a lighter, flowier fabric, you have a very elegant evening-type dress, a light linen will give you a really lovely summer dress perfect for catching a breeze or the heavier fabric that I used which gives more of a coat-like dress. And that is just for the dress length…think of all the different shirt styles that you can come up with! I hope you enjoyed seeing my version of the Sedona and I hope I have inspired you with some ideas to do some creating of your own!

 

The Sedona Shirt, Tunic and Dress PDF Pattern from Designer Stitch

sizes:
US sizes 2 to 22

skill level:
Intermediate

features:
– 5 differing body lengths – Shirt, Tunic, Knee, Midi and Maxi.
– 3 differing sleeve lengths – short, 3/4 plus a traditional tailored shirt sleeve.
– Front Patch Pockets.
– Optional self fabric tie belt or double “o-ring” belt

pattern details:
-layered options for printing only the size(s) you need
-printable on A4 and Letter paper
-A0 print shop format
-trim or trimless pdf pattern assembly options

suggested fabric
-light to medium weight woven fabrics

fashion-illo-art-gallery-2-1

WBM Chinos Promo 2018_0028

img_7847

Leave a comment