clothing · pattern tests · pdf patterns · Sewing · Sinclair Patterns

The Lauren Knit Top and Dress from Sinclair Patterns

img_8243

Sinclair Patterns has released their first new pattern for 2019. The Lauren Knit Top & Dress is designed for knits and depending on the fabric used and the how the garment is styled, it can be worn from casual to formal. The pattern underwent a few revisions to get the pattern just right and I would say that Oxana has knocked this one out of the park! My dress version was the second to last version and the only things that were slightly adjusted were to make the back pattern piece have a bit more room, mostly at the bust height and the pleats were tweaked a bit. I love the attention to details that go into Oxana’s patterns!

img_8250

My Lauren Dress
I went into the test prepared to sew the top version of this pattern. However, after seeing a couple of the tester versions of the dress coming out, I was having second thoughts. I don’t wear dresses much anymore, especially in the winter, but I had had these two rayon/spandex sweater knits in my stash for a couple of years. I had no clue what I was going to make with them, but they had been enticing me for weeks in the fabric store and when they were down to the last couple of meters of each and put on the clearance table, I quickly grabbed them, knowing something would come along. And I think this was the perfect pattern that allowed me to use both together!

img_8253

I made a US size 12 in the tall version. I love how Sinclair patterns include petite, regular and tall versions in their patterns. I usually have to lengthen patterns an inch or two because standard sizing is usually drafted for 5’6″ so it is really nice to have the steps taken care of already.

img_8240

The Lauren Dress has this beautiful sash-like drape across the front. I like design features like this in my garments…it’s so nice to have some texture and dimension to really make a garment roar. And once you get the pleats that form the front drape together, the rest of the dress sews up really quickly.

img_8260.cr2

I keep hearing so many great reviews about  Sinclair Patterns and they are everything that I have heard and more. If you haven’t tried one of their patterns yet, maybe the Lauren Top & Dress pattern will be the catalyst to get you to add one to your pattern collection. I am loving the look of the sleeveless versions that were made by the testers in warmer climates and I am thinking I will have to carve out some space in my closet for one of those, too, as well as the original top that I was going to make.

The Lauren Knit Top & Dress pdf pattern is on sale until January 20. 2019 for $8.99 US.


The Lauren Knit Top & Dress 

sizes:
US sizes 0 to 22 in petite, regular and tall versions

skill level:
Advanced Beginner
2-4 hours to sew

features:
-Fitted around shoulders, sleeves and upper bust
-drop waist 1/2 circle skirt for dress version
-optional bottom band for shirt version
-faux wrap style, left or right hand crossover
-Sleeve options- sleeveless, short, 3/4 or long
-asymmetrical v-neckline with two layers that provides a great degree of modestly-no   peep show happening with this design!

pattern details:
-layered options for printing only the size(s) you need
-printable on A4 and Letter paper
-A0 print shop format
-trim pdf pattern assembly options
-Facebook support group- Sinclair Patterns group

suggested fabric
-Light to medium weight well draping knit fabric with at least 50% horizontal and 30% vertical stretch

sinclair_patterns_pdf_sewing_pattern_s1068_loren_kint_top_and_dress_with_draped_front_v2-1024x342

 

 

WBM Chinos Promo 2018_0028

Leave a comment