Summer is back and time to start not-digging in the garden!!

We have had a pretty nice winter, all things considered, and spring was quite pleasant, as well. We had enough rain and puddles to keep my youngest daughter enjoying the new rubber boots she got.

The nights have still been a little chilly, so I am holding out until next weekend to plant the tomato plants we bought, but I am hoping to get things in place so I can start planting in my raised beds. I had hoped to get to this earlier, but I have been dragging my feet. i have been wanting to use the no-dig approach to gardening for a while now. When I read The One-Straw Revolution: An Introduction to Natural Farming by Masanobu Fukuoka, I felt like I was coming home to what I intuitively had felt for many years. Since then, I have read the works of a number of other gardeners who have been using this method. There are a number of them who have been doing this for 20+ years, so it has proven itself. I would highly recommend watching the Back to Eden film. This full-length movie is available for free viewing online and follows Paul Gautschi’s journey towards a simple and sustainable growing system. According to those who have visited his farm, his produce is incredible. I think visiting his farm will be  something that I  have to add to my bucket list. You can visit the website here. In case you have trouble locating the link on the website to watch the movie, here is a link to the Back to Eden film.

Jumping in and getting started on something I have never done before is not my strong-suit. In fact, my kids like to tease me about how long it takes me to make up my mind about things. In my defense, I just like to gather as many details as possible before embarking on a project so I don’t have to go back in and fix things afterwards. I don’t feel like I have all the information to start on converting our garden over, however, that may be because this is really so simple and I am just trying to make it complicated. So this will be the week that  the rubber hits the road, or in this case I guess I should say the wood chips hit the dirt.

 

2 thoughts on “Summer is back and time to start not-digging in the garden!!

  1. I watched this film a few weeks ago and loved it. today I spent an hour out in my garden weeding and it still isn’t done…along with not producing very well….I really hope to incorporate this concept sometime. I’m glad I found your blog.

    • I am surprised by how easy this is to weed,, and I must say that it seems to be fairly productive considering the fact that we haven’t given it too much attention due to a much busier than normal summer. I wish I had done it sooner. It was a lot simpler than I thought it would be. I will have to get an update posted soon. I hope you get the opportunity to get one started sooner rather than later. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

