clothing · Designer Stitch · pattern tests · pdf patterns · Sewing · Uncategorized

The Harper Pants from Designer Stitch

 

The Harper Pants from Designer Stitch

sizes:
US sizes 2 to 22
skill level:
Beginner+
features:
-choice of straight leg or slim leg widths
-jeans style functional pocket or slanted faux front pocket
-encased elastic waistband
-faux stitch fly
-faux back welt pockets
-optional belt loops
-optional pintuck
pattern details:
-layered options for printing only the size(s) you need
-printable on A4 and Letter paper
-A0 print shop format
-trim or trimless pdf pattern assembly options
suggested fabric
-Ponte de Roma and Double Ponte de Roma types or performance knits with 4- way stretch(40% across the grain and 25% vertical stretch)

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 10.02.19 PM

The Pattern

Designer Stitch has released their newest pattern this week, the Harper Pants. These pants are a cross between those comfy yoga pants that everyone loves and dress pants. So in other words, these are the perfect pair of pants that can be worn almost anywhere and anytime!

There are two different leg widths, a slim or a straight leg, faux back welt pockets and faux slanted front pockets or a functional jeans style pocket, optional front pin-tucks and belt loops. And I am totally loving the high-waist.

IMG_7655-DS Harper Pants test 2018 1

My Harpers

I chose the straight leg version with the functional jeans-style pocket and belt loops. I was really torn about adding the faux welts on the back. I know that on a slim fitting pant like this, a functional welt pocket will just show straight through the fabric with a bunch of unsightly lines. I did sew up a sample on some scraps because it is always a good idea to do a practice run on the fabric you will be using, but I have had faux pockets before and I always feel like there is something missing and even though I know better, I keep trying to stick my phone or a handwritten note into it. So in the end, I chose to skip the pockets. The instructions were super easy though and well worth the time if you don’t have this particular quirky habit of mine.

IMG_7661 DS Harper Pants test 2018

The Fabric

I found this ponte at my local fabric store. It is actually the first time I have made myself something with ponte, although I have used it to make joggers for my daughters. I have another pair started in an Autumn Jersey. I have used Autumn and Winter Jersey before for pants and it is really nice to wear.

IMG_7678-DS Harper Pants test 2018

The testing period actually ended about 2 weeks ago and I really like when there is some white space between pattern testing and the release. It gives me a chance to have the garment make it’s way into my closet and see how it fares. I can honestly say that unless they are in the laundry, these are my current go-to’s. We did a road trip on a particularly warm and windy day and I was so glad for the comfort of the Harper’s during the four hours in the car. And you can see in the picture below how well my pants coordinated with the gorgeous scenery!

IMG_7698

The Harper Pants will be on sale for the release week. And make sure to head on over to the Designer Stitch Facebook group where you can interact with Ann Grose, the designer and a whole bunch of other very creative makers. It is always fun to see all the other variations to get some inspiration for your own garments! Hope to see you there!!!

 

IMG_7669 DS Harper Pants test 2018

 

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 10.03.04 PMWBM Chinos Promo 2018_0028

2 thoughts on “The Harper Pants from Designer Stitch

  1. Wow, what a beautiful custom fit, nice job! You’ve inspired me to go ahead with the Harper. The blouse looks lovely on you as well, is this from a pattern also?

Leave a comment