Cooked Vegan · Low Fat · Raw Food · Uncategorized

New Year Tropical Dandelion Smoothie

A new year has arrived and with that comes a reflection of the previous year and where to head in the new year. This year our family has decided to kick it up a notch and try to focus on healing. Not that we haven’t been doing this anyhow, but it has taken the back burner as we were working on other projects. And seeing as all the members in our household have made the jump, this should make it a lot easier.

I decided to take a break from my normal dietary regime for the last two weeks of December. Now, compared to most people, it was still a pretty healthy diet. However, it did not sit well with me. So now that all the leftovers are gone, it is time to get back to the food that serves me so well. After all, nothing tastes as good as feeling good feels. This is one of my favorite sayings and has pretty much become my mantra.

Today I wanted to use up some dandelion in the fridge, especially since it is so good for cleansing and detoxing. I usually juice dandelion, but I wasn’t in much of a juicing mood, so experimented with using it in a smoothie. The combination I came up with ended up being quite satisfying and light after all the heavy foods I have been feeding on recently.

Tropical Dandelion Smothie

handful of organic dandelion greens
large handful of organic spinach
2 stalks of organic celery
2 organic oranges (so yummy this time of year!)
2 or 3 ripe bananas
1 apple (I had a Pink Lady, but any kind would do)
1 to 2 cups of spring water, depending on how thick you like your smoothies

I blended this up in my Vitamix, but you could use a regular blender and just make sure to chop everything up into small pieces before blending.

Wishing everyone a Happy and Healthy New Year!!

Leave a comment